Kim Hee Sun & EXO win Grand Prize Awards at the 2017 Asia Artist Awards


The 2017 Asis Artist Awards took place on November 15. On this day, actress Kim Hee Sun won the Grand Prize Award for the acting category, and EXO won the equivalent award for the singer category.

It was the first time in 20 years that Kim Hee Sun won a grand prize award at an awards ceremony since 1998. Her role in drama ‘Woman of Dignity’ was one of the most beloved characters in Korea this year.

EXO won the Grand Prize Award for two years in a row! EXO promoted their fourth album ‘THEWAR’ in July and repackage album ‘The Power of Music’ in September. Along with the Grand Prize Award, EXO also won the Fabulous Award and Popularity Award. D.O. won the Popularity Award for the acting category, making EXO a quadruple crown winner.

“Super rookie” of this year, Wanna One, won the well-deserved Rookie Award as well as Samsung Pay Award.

Lee Seung Gi, who was discharged from the military only a few weeks ago, won the Best Welcome Award.

Check out the full list of winners below:

Grand Prize Award: Kim Hee Sun, EXO

Legend Award: Super Junior

Best Artist Award: Namgoong Min, Park Hae Jin, YoonA, SEVENTEEN

Best Welcome Award: Lee Seung Gi

Best Star Award: Park Seo Jun, Ryu Jun Yeol, Zico, SNH48 7 SENSES (China)

Best Celebrity Award: 2PM’s Junho, Park Min Young, VIXX, Apink

Best Icon Award: Seo Kang Joon, Crush, MAMAMOO, Hwang Chi Yeol

Best Entertainer Award: Sung Hoon, Kim Tae Ri, NU’EST W, MONSTA X, Bolbbalgan4

Fabulous Award: Park Seo Jun, Lee Joon Gi, EXO, Super Junior

Choice Ward: Min Hyo Rin, Lee Tae Im, Kent Tsai, Just Jerk

Asia Icon Award: Park Shin Hye

Asia Star Award: Suzy

Popularity Award: EXO, D.O., YoonA

New Wave Award: Choi Tae Joon, Gong Seung Yeon, Shin Hyun Soo, SNUPER, ASTRO, The Rampage

Rising Star Award: Kang Tae Oh, Ji Soo, Seo Eun Su, gugudan, MOMOLAND, JBJ, Jeong Sewoon, DIA

Rookie Award: Ahn Hyo Seop, DIA’s Jung Chaeyeon, Wanna One, PRISTIN, KARD

Best OST Award: Ailee

Samsung Pay Award: Wanna One

Best Creator Award: Shin Won Ho (PD)

[Image source: 2017 Asia Artist Awards]