K-Pop Stars Gathered at ‘The 30th Golden Disk Awards’


[by Kim Young Shin, photo by Hwang Ji Eun] On January 21, a photo wall event was held for the second day of ‘The 30th Golden Disk Awards’ at Grand Peace Palace of Kyunghee University in Hoegi-dong, Seoul.

‘Golden Disk Awards’ is an annual ceremony that celebrates the most popular albums and digital releases in Korean music industry. It selects the ‘Album of the Year’, the ‘Song of the Year’ and the ‘New Artist of the Year’.

This year, 26 teams attended the event including BIGBANG, EXO, SHINee, Super Junior, Girl’s Generation, B2ST, CNBLUE, BTS, f(x), Apink, VIXX, iKON, Sistar, Red Velvet, EXID, Hyukoh, MONSTA X, BTOB, AOA, TWICE, SEVENTEEN and GFriend.

Meanwhile, ‘2016 Golden Disk Awards’ was broadcasted live on QTV in Korea and iQIYI in China on January 20 and 21.

The winners of ‘The 30th Golden Disk Awards’ in Album Release category:
▲Grand Prize: EXO
▲Artists of the Year: Apink, VIXX, f(x), BTS, CNBLUE, SHINee Jonghyun, EXO, B2ST, SHINee, Super Junior
▲National Popularity Award: SHINee
▲Global Popularity Award: EXO
▲JTBC2 New Artist of the Year: SEVENTEEN and TWICE
▲Best Vocal Group Award: BTOB
▲Best Vocal Solo Award: CNBLUE Jung Yong Hwa (photo by bntnews DB)

Contact: news@bntnews.co.uk